Online GK Series

This site is dedicated to the aspirants of competitive exams SSC, UPSC, Railways, Postal Assistants, Bank, GATE and NET

Indian Independence Movement - Multiple Choice General Knowledge Questions and Answers

111 Who of the following was the first President of the Indian Trade Union Congress in 1920 ?
A Dr. Rajendra Prasad
B Lala Lajpat Rai
C Chittaranjan Das
D Bipin Chandra Pal

Answer: Option [B]
112 Who among the following were popularly known as Red Shirts ?
A People led by Rani Gaidinliu
B Members of the Azad Hind Fauj
C Khudai Khidmatgars
D Congress socialists

Answer: Option [C]
113 The Interim Government formed by INC in 2nd September 1946 was headed by:
A C. Rajgopalachari
B Mahatma Gandhi
C Dr. Rajendra Prasad
D Jawaharlal Nehru

Answer: Option [D]
114 Who among the following annulled the Partition of Bengal ?
A Lord Hardinge
B Lord Minto
C Lord Curzon
D Lord Chelmsford

Answer: Option [A]
115 The radical wing of the Congress Party, with Jawaharlal Nehru as one of main leaders, founded the ‘Independence for India League’ in opposition to:
A the Montford Reforms
B the Home Rule Movement
C the Gandhi-Irwin Pact
D the Nehru Report

Answer: Option [D]
116 To promote the cause of Indian independence, Home Rule society, an informal nationalist organisation popularly called ‘India House’ was established in London between 1905 and 1910 by:
A Lala Hardayal
B Shymaji Krishna Varma
C V.D. Savarkar
D Madan Lal Dhingra

Answer: Option [B]
117 With how many volunteers did Gandhi led his famous Dandi march on March 12, 1930 from his base Sabarmati Ashram ?
A 20
B 50
C 78
D 103

Answer: Option [C]
118 Who among the following opposed Mahatma Gandhi’s association with the Khilafat movement ?
A Muhammad Ali Jinnah
B Abdul Kalam Azad
C Fazlul Haque
D Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan

Answer: Option [A]
119 Who was the British Prime Minister at the time of the Second Round Table Conference ?
A Neville Chamberlain
B Ramsay Macdonald
C Clement Attlee
D None of the above

Answer: Option [B]
120 Who was the Viceroy during the time Mr. Attlee of England declared the British intention to transfer power to Indians ?
A Lord Wavell
B Lord Irwin
C Lord Linlithgow
D Lord Mountbatten

Answer: Option [A]


Important EBooks for Competitive Exams