JOIN ADRE 2.0 Telegram Group

The Next Census Form Will Have Only Six Religions Options

The Next Census Form Will Have Only Six Religions Options

The Next Census Form Will Have Only Six Religions Options

The next census form will have only the option of six distinct religions- Hindu, Muslim, Christian, Buddhist, Sikh and Jain. The Sarnaism and the Lingayat religion have been not included despite demands from several communities.



The Nature-worshipping Adivasis of Jharkhand, Chattisgarh, and Odisha were demanding to include the Sarna faith as a separate religion.

Some people of Karnataka were also demanding to include the Lingayat religion as a separate religion.

In the final schedule of the census, only six religion codes were retained. The next Census will be the first digital census of India. The next Census will also record details on whether a person who lives in a rented house owns a house somewhere else or not. A code directory — containing possible responses and their matching codes for questions involving descriptive and non-numeric entries will be used for the first time in the next census. India's first official census was undertaken in the year 1881.

Take Mock Tests

Government Schemes Mock Test Start Test!
Political Science Mock Test – 42 Start Test
History Test – 190 Start Test
Quantitative Aptitude Test Start Test!
Trigonometry - Mock Test Start Test!
Data Interpretation - Mock Test Start Test!
General Awareness - Mock Test Start Test!
Reasoning Ability - Mock Test Start Test!
Englist(Antonyms) Mock Test 1 Start Test!
Quantitative Aptitude (Percentage) Mock Test Start Test!
Economy Mock Test 1 Unlock Test!
Books & Authors - Test 2 Unlock Test!

India Secured Approval To Set Up Second Hydropower Project In Nepal