Join us on TelegramClick Here

Cricket Australia unveils new transgender inclusive policy

Cricket Australia announced a new guideline which enables transgender players to play the game of cricket at the highest levels. The decision aligns in accordance with the International Cricket Council’s (ICC’s) gender recognition policy and gender diversity guidelines.

Daily Current Affairs Quiz 2019

The policy sets out a testosterone limit for transgender and gender-diverse players who want to play for state and national women’s teams.

In a statement released Cricket Australia chief executive, Kevin Roberts said, “It doesn’t make any sense that today, people are discriminated against, harassed or excluded, because of who they are. And that’s not right. Today we demonstrate our commitment to include people with an affirmed gender identity in the game at every level and ensure all people in our communities experience Australian cricket’s inclusive culture.

“As strength, stamina and physique are all relevant factors when competing in competitive sport, transgender and gender diverse players will be supported to participate in elite cricket, subject to certain criteria through the implementation of this policy.”

They must also be able to demonstrate their elected gender is consistent with how they are living their lives on a daily basis.

Erica James, a transgender cricket player from New South Wales, who played a key role in helping CA on forming new guidelines said, “Cricket Australia’s vision is to be a sport for everyone,”

“Transgender people are people and Australians. It’s a human right to be able to play sport and you should be able to play in a team that you feel comfortable with,” James told 3AW.

About the Australian men’s national cricket team

The Australian men’s national cricket team represents Australia in international cricket. As one of the oldest teams in Test cricket history, playing in the first ever Test match in 1877.

Coach: Justin Langer (Head coach)

Fight song: Under the Southern Cross I Stand

Captains: Aaron Finch, Tim Paine

Arenas/Stadiums: Sydney Cricket & Sports Ground Trust, Melbourne Cricket Ground, The Gabba, Adelaide Oval

Nicknames: Baggy Greens, Aussies, The Invincibles

Take Mock Tests

Government Schemes Mock Test Start Test!
Political Science Mock Test – 42 Start Test
History Test – 190 Start Test
Quantitative Aptitude Test Start Test!
Trigonometry - Mock Test Start Test!
Data Interpretation - Mock Test Start Test!
General Awareness - Mock Test Start Test!
Reasoning Ability - Mock Test Start Test!
Englist(Antonyms) Mock Test 1 Start Test!
Quantitative Aptitude (Percentage) Mock Test Start Test!
Economy Mock Test 1 Unlock Test!
Economy Mock Test 2 Unlock Test!
Economy Mock Test 3 Unlock Test!
Books & Authors - Test 2 Unlock Test!

Leave a Comment is a premier website to provide complete solution for online preparation of different competitive exams like UPSC, SBI PO, SBI clerical, PCS, IPS, IAS, IBPS PO, IBPS Clerical exam etc. & other graduate and post-graduate exams. Learn more on about us page