Kona Raghupati was elected as the Deputy Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Bapatla MLA of the YSR Congress Party Kona Raghupathi was unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of AP’s 15th Legislative Assembly on Tuesday, the last day of the first session.

His candidature was proposed by YSRCP MLAs and Ministers Botcha Satyanarayana, Kodali Sri Venkateswara Rao, Mekathoti Sucharita and others and the House unanimously elected him.

Soon after the announcement by Speaker Tammineni Sitaram, Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy walked up to Mr. Raghupathi and extended greetings.

Mr. Jagan along with the Leader of the Opposition N. Chandrababu Naidu ushered Mr. Raghupathi to the chair of the Speaker. It was the first time the Leader of the house and the Opposition came together honouring the Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Naidu skipped accompanying Speaker Mr. Sitaram recently and sent one of his members instead. Mr. Naidu was allegedly not invited then. Later, all the members queued up and congratulated Mr. Raghupathi.

 “We have elected you hoping that you would do well and also give enough time to the Opposition. I make this appeal on behalf of the Opposition too,” Mr. Jagan said on the occasion. Mr. Naidu recalled his association with Kona Prabhakar, father of Mr. Raghupathi and a former Speaker and Governor of three States. He said he expects Mr. Raghupathi to live up to the legacy of his father.

Take Mock Tests

Government Schemes Mock Test Start Test!
Political Science Mock Test – 42 Start Test
History Test – 190 Start Test
Quantitative Aptitude Test Start Test!
Data Interpretation - Mock Test Start Test!
General Awareness - Mock Test Start Test!
Reasoning Ability - Mock Test Start Test!

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Register New Account