Join us on TelegramClick Here

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final: Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final: The Vijay Hazare Trophy was won by Saurashtra over Maharashtra in the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Gujarat. They restricted Maharashtra at 248/9 in 50 overs as captain Ruturaj Gaikwad hit a century, scoring 108 off 131 balls after a slow start. Chirag Jani of Saurashtra claimed a hat-trick in the match. Sheldon Jackson is the man of the moment.

December 2022 Current Affairs Quiz

Chasing the target of 249, Saurashtra started off cautiously before the openers sitiched a 125-run partnership. Batter Shledon Jackson held one end as wickets tumbled around him. He hit a match-winning 133 off 136 balls to enable Saurashtra reach the goal with five wickets to spare in 46.3 overs. Saurashtra’s second title victory in history.

Notably: The win enhanced Jaydev Unadkat’s credentials as captain, he had led Saurashtra to their first Ranji Trophy title in 2019-2020. He also finished at the top of the wicket-taking charts in the Vijay Hazare Trophy with 19 strikes to his name.

Full List of Award Winners:

  • Player of the match in the final: Sheldon Jackson (133 runs in 135 Balls)
  • Player of the tournament: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Games: 5; Runs: 660; Avg: 220)
  • Most Runs: N Jagadeesan (Tamil Nadu): 830runs, 8 innings
  • Highest Score: N Jagadeesan – 277 off 141 balls vs Arunachal Pradesh
  • Most Fours: N Jagadeesan – 73 in 8 innings
  • Most Sixes: Ruturaj Gaikwad – 34 in 5 innings
  • Most Wickets: Vasuki Koushik (Karnataka) – 18 wickets in 9 matches

Leave a Comment is a premier website to provide complete solution for online preparation of different competitive exams like UPSC, SBI PO, SBI clerical, PCS, IPS, IAS, IBPS PO, IBPS Clerical exam etc. & other graduate and post-graduate exams. Learn more on about us page