Join us on TelegramClick Here

Sangeet Natak Akademi announces winners for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award 2019, 2020 and 2021: The Sangeet Natak Akademi has named 128 recipients of the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (Akademi Puraskar) for their significant contributions to the fields of music, dance, theatre, traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/theatre, puppetry, and contribution/scholarship in the performing arts for the years 2019, 2020, and 2021. The General Council of the Akademi also announced 10 eminent personalities in the field of performing arts as Akademi Fellows. While the winners of the Akademi Puruskar will receive a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh, Akademi fellows will get Rs 3 lakh each and both will also receive a tamrapatra and angavastram.

November 2022 Current Affairs Quiz

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award: 

  • Among the Akademi Fellows are Bharatnatyam exponent Saroja Vaidyanathan, Kerala-based Kathakali dancer Sadanam Krishnan Kutty, Manipuri dancer Darshana Jhaveri, Banaras-based Hindustani classical vocalist Chhannulal Mishra, Carnatic music clarinet player A.K.C Natarajan, Hindustani classical singer of Gwalior gharana Malini Rajurkar, two-time Grammy nominee and tabla maestro Swapan Chaudhuri and Cochin-based Hindustani and Carnatic music vocalist T. V. Gopalakrishnan, among others. With these 10 new Akademi Fellows, the tally of fellows has increased to 39.
  • Apart from these, the Akademi has announced the names of 86 performing artists who have earned the one-time Sangeet Natak Akademi Amrit Award as part of the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM), which honours 75 years of India’s independence. These include artists above the age of 75 years who haven’t been accorded any national honour in their career. These artists will receive a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.
  • In addition, the Akademi released the names of 102 artists who would compete for the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar in 2019, 2020, and 2021. These artists are under the age of 40.  The Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar identifies and encourages outstanding young talents in diverse fields of performing arts and gives them national recognition so that they may work with greater commitment and dedication in their chosen fields. The Akademi seems to have ensured adequate representation in the winners’ list with 19 artists from the North East. These artists will receive a cash prize of Rs. 25,000.

Leave a Comment is a premier website to provide complete solution for online preparation of different competitive exams like UPSC, SBI PO, SBI clerical, PCS, IPS, IAS, IBPS PO, IBPS Clerical exam etc. & other graduate and post-graduate exams. Learn more on about us page