JOIN ADRE 2.0 Telegram Group

Indian National Movement Multiple Choice Questions(MCQs) and Answers

1 Which of the following was a revolutionary who later turned into a yogi and a philosopher?
A Lala Lajpat Rai
B Bal Gangadhar Tilak
C Agarkara
D Aurodindo Ghosh

Answer: Option [D]

Aurobindo Ghosh was an Indian philosopher, yogi, guru, poet, and nationalist. He joined the Indian movement for independence from British rule, till 1910 was one of its influential leaders, and then became a spiritual reformer, introducing his visions on human progress.

2 Delhi became the capital of India in :
A 1916
B 1910
C 1931
D 1911

Answer: Option [D]

Delhi became the capital of India in 1911. On 12th December, 1911, at the historic Delhi Durbar, the George V, the Emperor of the British Empire proclaimed the shifting of the capital of India from Calcutta to Delhi.

ADRE 2.0 Mock Test - 5 Start Test
ADRE 2.0 Mock Test - 5 Start Test


3 With reference to Indian Freedom Struggle, who of the following was the lady representative of India at the Second Round Table Conference?
A Sucheta Hriplani
B Aruna Asaf Ali
C Vijayalakshmi Pandit
D Sarojini Naidu

Answer: Option [D]

The Second Round Conference opened on September 7, 1931. Gandhi represented Indian National Congress and Sarojini Naidu represented Indian women. But, Gandhi claimed that Congress Represented India.

4 Which of the following institutions was not founded by Mahatma Gandhi?
A Sabarmati Ashram
B Sevagram Ashram
C Vishwa Bharati
D Phoenix Ashram

Answer: Option [C]
5 Swaraj as a national demand was first made by:
A Bal Gangadhar Tilak
B Dadabhai Naoraji
C Jawaharlal Nehru
D Chittaranjan Das

Answer: Option [B]

Swaraj was first articulated, in the presidential address of Dadabhai Naoroji, as the Congress's goal at its Calcutta session in 1906.

6 Who was the Viceroy of India at the time of Jallianwala Bagh Massacre?
A Lord Irwin
B Lord Chelmsford
C Lord Hardinge
D Lord Curzon

Answer: Option [B]
7 The Indian Independence League was set up by:
A Jayaprakash Narayan
B Aruna Asaf Ali
C S.M. Joshi
D Rash Behari Bose

Answer: Option [D]
8 Who among the following Urdu poets was invited to the Second and Third round Table Conference?
A Josh Malihabadi
B Muhammad Iqbal
C Faiz Ahmad Faiz
D Firaq Gorakhpuri

Answer: Option [B]
9 The first movement launched against the British in India was :
A Swadeshi Movement
B Khilafat Movement
C Quit India Movement
D Non-Cooperation Movement

Answer: Option [A]
10 The first women’s university in India was founded by :
A Dhondo Keshave Karve
B Rani Ahilya Devi
C J.C. Kumarappa
D Gandhiji

Answer: Option [A]

Read More History Questions


Take Mock Tests

Government Schemes Mock Test Start Test!
Political Science Mock Test – 42 Start Test
History Test – 190 Start Test
Quantitative Aptitude Test Start Test!
Data Interpretation - Mock Test Start Test!
General Awareness - Mock Test Start Test!
Reasoning Ability - Mock Test Start Test!